
 
CHAPTER 10 

PROCEDURAL RULES 
CRIMINAL AND TRAFFIC 

 
RULE  10.00 
 FILING CRIMINAL COMPLAINTS AND CITATIONS  
 (a)  Filing  
 All criminal complaints, informations, and citations filed in the Superior Court of California, 
County of San Luis Obispo, must comply with the Court Filing Procedures.    
      (Amended 7/1/15) 
 
 
RULE  10.01 
 BAIL  
 (a)  Requests for Increase or Reduction 
 When bail has been set by a Judge out of Court, all subsequent out-of-court requests for an 
increase or reduction of bail must be made to the judge who set such bail.  
 (b)  More than One Request 
 Any person requesting a reduction or increase in bail must disclose all other applications for 
an increase or reduction.   
 (c)  Notice to District Attorney  
  (1)  No applications may be made without prior notification to the District Attorney to 
allow a representative to be present. 
  (2)  When a request for bail or OR is made after normal court hours the requesting 
party must contact the "on-call" deputy district attorney to determine his or her recommendation. 
The "on-call'' deputy district attorney will notify the requesting party of the bail recommendation 
and furnish a phone number where the party can contact the deputy district attorney to discuss 
the recommendation.  
 (d)   Relief From Forfeiture 
 A surety, surety insurer, bail agent, or a depositor of money or property may bring a motion to 
vacate a forfeiture and exonerate a bond pursuant to the provisions of Penal Code section 1305, 
subdivision (i).  The motion shall be filed within 180 days of the date of forfeiture, or if notice of 
forfeiture was sent by mail, then within 185 days of the date of forfeiture. 
  (1) Form of Motion 
  A motion filed pursuant to this provision and the provisions of Penal Code section 1305 
shall be in the form required by California Rules of Court, Rule 3.1112, or, in the alternative, 
may be brought by way of a properly completed Court approved form entitled Notice Requesting 
Discharge of Forfeiture and Exoneration of Bond, which may be obtained through the clerk of 
the San Luis Obispo Superior Court, Criminal Division.  Unless the grounds for relief from 
forfeiture are those provided for in Penal Code section 1305, subdivisions (c)(1) or (2), the 
motion or notice requesting discharge shall be supported by proper affidavit(s). 
  (2) Hearing Procedure 
  The motion or notice requesting discharge of forfeiture shall be considered by the 
assigned judge in chambers and may be calendared as provided for in paragraph (3) of this rule.  
Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (3), no appearance is required by the moving party or 
the prosecuting agency. 
  (3) Notice Requirements 
    If, after review of the motion or notice requesting discharge of forfeiture and the 
supporting affidavits, the Court believes that discharge of forfeiture and exoneration of the bond 
is not warranted, the Court will calendar the matter for hearing and the Clerk of the Court shall 
provide 10 days prior notice to the prosecuting agency. 
  (4) Assessment of Costs 



  (A) The Court shall assess the sum of $100.00 as a condition to exoneration of bail in 
all cases (said sum representing the Court’s costs in processing the forfeiture and other matters 
related to the defendant’s failure to appear). 
  (B) Where applicable the following assessments shall be made when a defendant has 
been transported back to San Luis Obispo County at public expense (said sums representing the 
actual costs of returning the defendant to custody, in accordance with the Penal Code section 
1306): 
   (1) Los Angeles County Sheriff’s bus service shall be assessed at $26.00; 
   (2) Security Air Transport Air Service shall be assessed at $226.00; 
   (3) Other transportation costs shall be assessed at actual cost. 
 (e) Extensions of Time 
  A surety, surety insurer, bail agent, or a depositor of money or property may bring a 
motion to extend the 180-day relief from forfeiture period provided for in Penal Code section 
1305.  The motion shall be filed within 180 days of the date of forfeiture, or if notice of 
forfeiture was sent by mail, then within 185 days of the date of forfeiture.  The motion shall be 
supported by proper affidavit(s) showing “good cause” for the extension.  The matter shall be 
calendared for hearing within 30 days from the expiration of the 180 day period, conditioned 
upon the moving party providing 10 days prior notice to the prosecuting agency.   
   
 (f)  Source of Bail -- PC 1275 – Procedure 
 When a Source of Bail Order pursuant to Penal Code Section 1275 has been signed by a judge 
in a case, the following procedure must be followed by the defendant in calendaring the matter 
for hearing to show that "no portion of the consideration, pledge, security, deposit, or 
indemnification paid, given, made, or promised for its execution was feloniously obtained:" 
  (1) Declarations and Proof Required 
  The Request for Hearing must be accompanied by a declaration or offer of proof setting 
forth the following: 
   (A)  The bail bondsman, 
   (B)  The source of the bond premium, including name and address of person(s) 
proposing to pay said premium, and  
   (C)  The source of the security or pledge, including the name and address of the 
owner, and description of the property. 
  (2)  Time for Filing  
  The declaration or offer of proof must be filed and personally served on the District 
Attorney not later than three court days before the hearing; for example, for a hearing on Friday 
at 8:30 a.m., the declaration or offer of proof must be served and filed by Tuesday at 5:00 p.m. 
  (3)  Persons Required at Hearing 
  At the hearing the defendant must produce the bail bondsman, the person proposing to 
pay the premium, and the person proposing to provide the security for examination and 
cross-examination.  (Amended 7/1/03) 
 
 
RULE  10.02 
 ARREST AND SEARCH WARRANTS   
 All requests for arrest and search warrants must be presented to the District Attorney’s Office 
for review prior to being presented to a judge and must be approved as to form by a prosecutor 
who has reviewed and approved the request.  Search warrants for driving under the influence 
(DUI) cases which use the pre-approved template for a DUI blood draw search warrant do not 
require District Attorney approval.  (Adopted 1/1/17) 
 
RULE  10.03 
 CALENDARING CRIMINAL PROCEEDINGS  
 (a)  Location of Arraignment  
  (1)  In-Custody 



  The initial court appearance or arraignment for defendants who are in custody in the 
County Jail will be held at the San Luis Obispo Court location. 
  (2)  Out-of-Custody 
  The initial court appearance or arraignment for defendants who are not in custody at the 
county jail and are charged with a felony offense, must be arraigned at the San Luis Obispo 
Court location.  The initial court appearance or arraignment for defendants who are not in 
custody and are charged with a misdemeanor offense that was committed in the jury district of 
Paso Robles or the jury district of San Luis Obispo must be arraigned at the San Luis Obispo 
Court location. 
  (3) Felony Cases 
  All defendants charged with a felony offense regardless of where the offense occurred 
must be arraigned at the San Luis Obispo Court location.  Felonies on entry of a plea of not 
guilty will be set for a preliminary hearing. This hearing will be set within 10 court days of the 
entry of plea if the defendant is in custody and within 14 to 16 court days if he or she is not.  
 (b)  Date of Arraignment 
  (1) Arresting agencies releasing persons prior to an arraignment calendar hearing 
must fix the date of the appearance of the person arrested in the proper location of this Court at a 
regularly scheduled arraignment calendar not more than two weeks for felony defendants and 30 
days (or closest court day not to exceed 32 days due to holidays and weekends) for all other 
defendants from the date of such release. If a further appearance date has been set by the Court 
then the date of appearance fixed by the law enforcement agency must be that date. 
  (2) Whenever an arresting agency releases a defendant and sets a court appearance 
date it must notify the clerk of the court in which the defendant is to appear. 
 (c)  Multiple Cases 
  (1)  Felony Defendants: 
   (A)  Probation Violations 
   If a defendant is charged with a felony offense, all pending misdemeanor probation 
violations will be transferred to the San Luis Obispo Branch where the felony case is pending. If 
a defendant is released upon posting bail on a warrant issued for a misdemeanor probation 
violation and a felony is pending, the defendant will be directed to appear in the San Luis Obispo 
Branch on all of these cases. 
   (B)  Pending Misdemeanor Cases 
   If a defendant in custody is charged with a felony offense and a separate misdemeanor 
offense, all pending misdemeanor cases will be transferred to the San Luis Obispo Branch. The 
defendant will appear in this branch on all these cases.  
  (2) Misdemeanor Defendants 
  When a misdemeanor defendant is in custody, the defendant will be arraigned on all 
pending cases in the San Luis Obispo Branch. However, should the defendant be released on bail 
or citation prior to the appearance the defendant will be directed to appear in the branch from 
which the warrant was issued or in which the case is pending.  (Amended 7/1/10) 
 
 
 
RULE  10.05 
 CALENDAR EVENTS: MISDEMEANORS  
 (a)  Arraignments 
 The defendant or counsel will be given a copy of reports and complaint at the arraignment. 
Stipulations for independent blood analysis should be made at arraignment. Pleas will be entered. 
Since the District Attorney and Public Defender may be present, some plea negotiation may be 
accomplished at this event. Following entry of a not guilty plea case will be set for a Pretrial 
Conference and Trial Setting Conference. 

(1)Counter Arraignment by Counsel 
a. The Clerk’s office is authorized to accept local form Counter Arraignment by 

Counsel on misdemeanor and infraction cases from retained attorneys. Eligible 



cases must have an arraignment date not less than two days in the future. Cases 
involving charges of violence that might result in a criminal protective order 
are not eligible. 

b. Counter Arraignment by Counsel forms cannot be modified.  Modified forms 
will not be accepted. 

c. No motions may be submitted with a Counter Arraignment by Counsel form. 
d. Counter Arraignment by Counsel will include the following actions on the 

defendant’s behalf: 
i. Waiver of formal arraignment 

ii.  Waiver of time for trial 
iii.  Entry of not guilty plea on all charges and denials of all priors and 

probation violations. 
iv. Agreement to contact the Deputy District Attorney or City Attorney 

assigned to the department five days before the pre-trial conference 
e. The Clerk’s office will off calendar the arraignment and set the matter for pre-

trial conference two to four weeks in the future. 
 (b)  Motions 
 Any motions, except in limine motions where a stipulation cannot be obtained, must be 
noticed and heard prior to the Trial Setting Conference. No further motions will be heard on the 
case. If a motion to strike a prior cannot be heard at this time because of lack of documentation it 
will be heard at the time of sentencing. VC 41403(c). In Limine Motion: Any in limine motion 
must be filed in writing five days before the Readiness Conference.  The motion will be heard at 
the Readiness Conference.  Any pleadings submitted to the court that have any confidential 
documents must conform with PC964.  If not, they will be rejected.  The Court, at its discretion, 
may require an unredacted/sealed version. 
 (c)  Pre - Trial Conferences 
 The District Attorney and defense counsel must discuss the case and attempt to resolve the 
case at the pre trial conference.     
 (d)  Trial Setting Conference 
 If there is not a disposition of the case, a Readiness Conference and Trial will be set. All 
discovery is to be complete by this conference and all additional investigation such as blood 
re-analysis, is to have been completed. 
 (e)  Court Trial  
 If a Court Trial is requested at arraignment this will be set and a Pre Trial Conference will 
only be set upon request. Trial will be set within four weeks. 
 (f)  In Custody Defendant 
 Pre Trial Conferences for in custody defendants will be set on the in-custody-arraignment 
calendar. 
 (g)  Readiness Conference 
 The purpose of this conference is simply to confirm the matter for trial the following day. No 
negotiated pleas will be accepted unless good cause is shown. Once the matter is confirmed, no 
negotiated pleas will be accepted.  On the date of trial the case will be either tried, dismissed or a 
defendant will be required to plead to all counts, unless good cause is shown.  
 (h)  Continuance by Clerk 
  (1)  A clerk of this Court may upon the request of the defendant or counsel, continue 
the initial arraignment of a defendant for up to 14 calendar days. 
  (2)  This authorization does not apply to any case in which a defendant has been 
charged with a felony. 
  (3)  This authorization does not apply to any case in which a defendant has been 
released on bail or is charged with a crime of violence that may result in the issuance of a 
PC136.2 order. 
  
 (i)  Appearance by Counsel 



  Pursuant to statutory authority (Penal Code Section 977(a)(1)) and case law, a defendant 
may appear by counsel if the accused is charged with a misdemeanor only, except as provided in 
Penal Code Section 977(a)(2), which states “If the accused is charged with a misdemeanor 
offense involving domestic violence, as defined in Section 6211 of the Family Code, or a 
misdemeanor violation of Section 273.6, the accused shall be present for arraignment and 
sentencing.”   
  Appearance by counsel without the defendant being present shall be deemed an 
appearance on behalf of the defendant.  The failure of counsel to have all necessary authority and 
authorization to act for the defendant at any appearance is grounds for the Court to order the 
defendant’s personal presence at the next appearance.  If a represented defendant is not present 
when the case is calendared for trial or other evidentiary hearing, the attorney of record shall 
notify the defendant of the date, time, and place of the trial or hearing.  (Amended 7/1/15) 
 
RULE 10.06 
 CALENDAR EVENTS: FELONIES   
 (a)  Criminal Team: All felony cases, including probation violations,  All felony 
arraignments, including probation violation arraignments, will be heard in the Felony Early 
Disposition Department.  Cases that do not settle will be assigned to a specific department in the 
criminal team.  The team will be such judges as are assigned by the presiding judge. (Amended 
1/1/08) 
 (b)  Case Assignments: ALL ASSIGNMENTS MUST BE FOR ALL PURPOSES. 
   
  (1) Assignment for all Purposes:  Assignment to a judge for all purposes means 
assignment for all proceedings in the matter after initial arraignment on the complaint through 
trial and sentencing. 
  For all purposes includes all court proceedings that apply in each case. 
  Any motions under Code of Civil Procedure § 170.6 must be filed within ten (10) days 
after the appearance of a party.   
  Any motion under Code of Civil Procedure § 170.6 filed after being held to answer will 
be considered untimely, unless it is shown that the party did not have the opportunity to file it 
earlier. 
 (c)  Calendar of Events: 
  (1) Arraignment on Complaint    
  Arraignment must proceed in accordance with P.C. §§ 858, 859, 859a, 859b and 860.  The 
district attorney provides initial discovery with the complaint.  Disposition discussions are 
encouraged.  Seven to ten days will normally be allowed for a defendant to retain counsel of his 
or her choice.  Following entry of a not guilty plea, the case will be set for a pre-preliminary 
hearing and preliminary hearing.  These hearings will be held at the courts located in San Luis 
Obispo unless the court, for good cause, orders otherwise. 
  (2) Pre-preliminary Hearing  
  A pre-preliminary hearing will be held to confirm readiness for the preliminary hearing 
and to provide an opportunity for discussions of case disposition.  At this hearing, the parties 
should consider applicable diversion procedures. 
  (3) Preliminary Hearing  
  The preliminary hearing must be held pursuant to Title 3, Chapter 7 of the Penal Code. 
  (4) Trial Setting Conference 
  A trial setting conference will be set.  The prosecution and defense are encouraged to 
discuss disposition and scheduling of future case events with the court.  In the absence of a 
disposition the matter will be set for jury trial and readiness conference. 
  (5) (a) Motions 
   Counsel must consult the court (clerk) for available dates for motions requiring an 
evidentiary hearing.  Motions must be calendared at least one week before the readiness 
conference. 



 (b)  Motion to Set Aside Information 
 A motion to set aside the information pursuant to Penal Code § 995 will be heard by an 
assigned judge. 
  (6) Readiness Conference 
  A readiness conference must occur prior to trial. The purpose of this conference is simply 
to confirm the matter for trial the following week. 
   (7) Jury Trial  
  Trial will proceed pursuant to Title 7, Chapter 2 of the Penal Code.  No negotiated pleas 
will be accepted.  The case must either be tried, dismissed or the defendant must plead to all 
counts.  The trial will be set, except for good cause, no later than 60 days from the date of the not 
guilty plea.  (Amended 1/1/08) 
  (8) Probation Violation Hearings 
  Hearings on violations must be heard as early as possible.  (Amended 7/1/15) 
 
RULE  10.07 
 LAW AND MOTION PROCEEDINGS  
 (a)  Location  
 All motions except Penal Code section 995 motions will be held before the judge to whom the 
case is assigned.  Upon filing a Penal Code section 995 motion, counsel must, if denied, request 
such motion be assigned to another judge on the criminal team. 
 (b)  Notice of Motion 
 All motions and notices must be in writing and an original must be filed for each case when 
multiple cases are listed.  In addition, it must specify the date, department, time of the hearing 
and the grounds of the motion. All motions must be in writing and give not less than ten (10) 
calendar days’ notice unless such requirement is shortened by court order or waived. The papers 
intended to be used by the moving party must be attached to, and served and filed with, the 
notice of motion. All citations of authority must include the official reporter citation and the 
West Publishing (unofficial) citation.  Failure of either party to file and serve the points and 
authorities may be deemed by the court to be a concession to the motion and/or that the motion is 
without merit.  Where the review of a transcript is necessary, the pertinent transcript testimony 
must be summarized with a specific page and line reference cited.   
 (c)  Date of Hearing 
 Any motion requiring a hearing must be noticed for a date certain after confirming such date 
with the court clerk prior to noticing the motion. The motion must be noticed and heard prior to 
the Trial Setting Conference for misdemeanors and prior to the readiness conference for felonies. 
 (d)  Format 
 The first page of each motion must specify immediately below the number of the case: 
  (1)  The date, time and location, if ascertainable, of any scheduled or noticed hearing; 
  (2)  The nature or title of any attached document other than an exhibit; and 
  (3)  The trial date, if set.   
 Documents bound together must be consecutively paginated. 
 (e)  1538.5 Motion  
  (1)  Felony  
  Motions by defendant to suppress or return evidence may be heard in conjunction with 
and at the same time as a Preliminary Hearing or on a date set. (Amended 1/1/08) 
   (A)  A written noticed motion is not required if a motion based upon Penal Code 
section 1538.5 is to be heard at the Preliminary Hearing. The prosecutor must be prepared at all 
such hearings to justify, legally and factually, all seizures of proffered evidence; however, upon a 
showing of surprise the case may be continued.  If a Penal Code section 1538.5 motion is made 
other than at a preliminary hearing, a written notice that complies with Rule 10.07(b) is required. 
   (B)  A written noticed motion pursuant to Penal Code section 1538.5 must specifically 
describe and list the evidence which is the subject of the motion to suppress; and must 
specifically state the theory or theories which must be relied upon and urged for the suppression 
of the evidence; and cite the specific authority or authorities which will be offered in support of 



the theory or theories and must set forth a statement of facts upon which such theory(ies) is 
based upon which suppression of the evidence is urged.  It must also conform to Rule 10.07(b). 
  (2)  Misdemeanors  
  Motions by defendant to suppress or return property will be heard at least 10 calendar 
days in advance of the trial date (PC 1538.5(g)). Notice of the date of such hearing must be given 
in compliance with Rule 10.07(b) above and must specifically list and describe the evidence 
sought to be suppressed or returned, must state specifically the theory(ies) which will be relied 
on and urged for suppression or return of the evidence, must set forth a statement of facts upon 
which such theory(ies) is based, and must cite the specific authority(ies) which supports the 
theory(ies) for such suppression.  
  (3)  Hearing  
  Defendant must be prepared to prove standing to object, and in instances of warrantless 
searches, must be prepared to prove 
   (a)  That a seizure of the evidence took place, and 
   (b)  That it was done so without a warrant.  
(Amended 7/1/10) 
 
RULE  10.08 
 CONTINUANCE POLICY  
 The welfare of the People of the State of California requires that all proceedings in criminal 
cases must be set for trial and heard at the earliest possible time. (PC l050). Therefore it is the 
policy of this court to maximize the use of judicial time and avoid continuances, resetting and 
unnecessary trailing of cases. Any motion to continue in a criminal proceeding must comply with 
Penal Code Section 1050. Further this Court adheres to a no trial continuance policy -- when a 
courtroom event is scheduled that event should take place as scheduled. 
 (1)  Responsibilities of Counsel 
  (A) Counsel's attention is directed to Rule 6-101 of the Rules of Professional Conduct of 
the State Bar of California "Failing to Act Competently" 
  (B)  A member of the State Bar must not 
   (1)  Accept employment or continue representation in a legal matter when the member 
does not have sufficient time, resources, and ability to perform the matter with competence, or 
   (2)  Repeatedly accept employment or continue representation in legal matters when 
the member reasonably should know that the member does not have or will not acquire before 
performance is required, sufficient time, resources and ability to perform the matter with 
competence . . . " 
  (C)  Counsel should not set a case if they are committed to another trial during that 
period or if they are going to be on vacation. This includes cases set in Superior Court and cases 
in different branches and departments of this Court. Counsel should not schedule other cases to 
begin if they have another matter set in this Court. Neither reason constitutes "good cause" for a 
continuance. 
  (D)  Motions, pre-trials and trials are to be heard at the time and date set. 
  (E)  Substitute Counsel 
  An attorney who appears for another attorney is representing the defendant then before 
the Court. An attorney who makes such an appearance is required to do so competently. Calif. 
Rules of Professional Conduct 6-101(A)(1). Such an attorney is expected to be prepared to carry 
out and perform any duties required at that calendar event; should a continuance be required it is 
counsel's responsibility to have complied with this policy and to know when the other attorney 
will be available to appear; if a case is not to be tried, counsel should have authority to dispose of 
the case. Should these rules not be complied with, sanctions may be applied against this attorney. 
(CCP 128.5, CCP 177.5, Calif. Rules of Court 2.30.) At the next scheduled calendar event, the 
counsel of record must file a declaration with the Court explaining the inability to be present at 
the last calendar event. 
  (F) Counsel should not delay in filing and serving proper motions. Failure timely to 
file or serve without good cause may result in the imposition of sanctions. 



  (G) Counsel should subpoena witnesses as soon as a case is set for hearing or trial. 
  (H) Counsel should not accept representation of a defendant unless there is sufficient 
time to adequately prepare before the next scheduled event. 
 (2)  Motions to Continue 
 Motions to continue must comply with Penal Code Section 1050 and must be submitted in 
duplicate. Courtroom events will be continued only when extraordinary circumstances, not 
within the control of the parties and which were not foreseeable at the time of setting the date of 
the event, necessitate a continuance. In ruling on motions to continue, the following factors will 
be taken into consideration: 
  (A)  The time when the need for the continuance arose, and the diligence of counsel in 
bringing the need for a continuance to the attention of the Court and opposing counsel at the 
earliest possible date and in attempting to avoid a continuance; 
  (B)  The proximity of trial, the age of the case, the established time limits for 
processing cases, and the nature of any previous continuances or prior orders entered in the case; 
  (C)  The earliest possible date all parties and the court will be read to proceed; 
  (D)  Whether the continuance may be avoided by substitution of attorneys or 
witnesses, or by the use of stipulations as to testimony, and  
  (E)  The injury or inconvenience caused to the party not requesting the continuance.  
 (3)  Good Cause 
 Continuances will only be granted on the showing by competent evidence of good cause. The 
facts proven justifying good cause and the length of continuance must be set forth on the record. 
Good cause is NOT shown by the following: 
  (A)  Counsel's vacation or commitment to another trial or proceeding except as 
provided in PC 1050(g), 
  (B)  Failure of a client to adhere to a financial agreement with his attorney, 
  (C)  Failure to expeditiously prepare for trial, 
  (D)  A witnesses' vacation or attendance at school unless this is accompanied by a 
showing of the witnesses' unavailability, that the testimony is material and necessary and that the 
party seeking the attendance exercised due diligence to secure the presence of the witness, 
  (E)  Informal diversion, 
  (F)  A civil compromise pursuant to PC 1378, 
  (G)  Other pending cases, 
  (H)  Negotiations not yet completed. 
  (Misdemeanor cases coming within (E) and (F) can be conditionally dismissed on waiver 
of the prohibition against refiling). 
 (4)  No Stipulated Continuances 
 No continuance will be granted solely because all parties agree thereto. 
 (5)  Sanctions  
 The failure to adhere to this policy will result in the imposition of sanctions and the 
assessment of reasonable costs. CCP 128.5, CCP 177.5, Calif. Rules of Court 2.30. 
 (6)  Trailing   
 Should it be necessary that cases be trailed for hearing or trial, they will be trailed day by day. 
The case will be called each day at 11:30, 4:30 and the next day at 8:30. When a case is trailing 
the defendant and counsel, except in extraordinary circumstances, must be present when the case 
is called. (Amended 7/1/01) 
 
RULE  10.09 
 PHOTOGRAPHING OR RECORDING COURT PROCEEDINGS  
 All photographing, recording and broadcasting in the courtrooms of this Court will be in 
accordance with California Rule of Court 1.150 as modified by the following:  
 (a) Prohibition of Camera Use in Courthouse. 
 No one may use a camera to take pictures in any portion of the courthouse except as permitted 
by Rule 1.150 of the California Rules of Court, or in such area, as designated by the Presiding 
Judge, located in the common area on the third floor above the Jury Commissioner's Office 



known as the Third Floor Rotunda, or as permitted by order of a judge as set forth herein.  This 
applies not only to the use of cameras, but also to the use of camera devices such as camera-
enabled cellular telephones and other camera-enabled or digital image-capture devices of any 
kind.(Amended 1/1/10) 
 
RULE  10.10 
 TRIALS  
 (a)  Location 
  (1)  Defendant in Custody 
  If the defendant is in custody the trial of any criminal case will be held at the court located 
in San Luis Obispo unless for good cause the court transfers the trial to another location. 
  (2)  Defendant Out of Custody  
  If the defendant is not in custody the trial of any criminal case will be held at the San Luis 
Obispo court location in the jury district in which the offense is alleged to have occurred.   
(Amended 1/1/09) 
  (3)  Change of Location  
  Upon a showing of good cause, a change in court location may be requested in writing 
and served upon the opposing party as will be honored providing that such request is made at 
least ten (10) calendar days before the hearing. However, in no case will a request be honored if 
a jury panel has already been notified to appear. The opposing party shall have the right to 
request a hearing on the question of whether the matter should be transferred. The Court may, on 
its own motion, order any trial transferred to any court location. 
 (b)  Pretrial Conference -- Misdemeanor Defendants 
 All cases in which a jury trial is not waived must be set for a pre trial conference and a trial 
setting conference before a jury trial is set if time for trial is waived. If time for a jury trial is not 
waived a pre trial conference will be set at the time a jury trial is set.  (Amended 7/1/02) 
 
RULE  10.11 
 SENTENCING 
 (a)  Probation Modification  
  (1)  Notice Requirements 
  The court requires not less than 10 days’ notice to calendar a motion for modification of 
probation. The request to place the motion on calendar must be made by the defendant in person 
or by counsel. 
  (2)  Jail Time Modifications 
    Request for "modification" of jail time may be calendared provided that not more 
than seven days have elapsed since the failure to appear at the jail and/or probation has not been 
revoked and a bench warrant issued.  (Amended 1/1/08) 
  (3)  Multiple Modification Request  
  If a case is twice scheduled for modification and there is no appearance, the case cannot 
be placed on calendar for the same modification.  
  
 (b)  Fine Payments 
  (1) Fine Payments by Installment 
  The Court will accept partial payments on criminal fines as ordered by a judicial officer.  
Court ordered payment plans will include specified due dates and minimum amounts of the 
payments.  Criminal fines paid by installments will be subject to an nominal administrative fee 
installment fee of $30 pursuant to PC1205(e). In addition, a request for payment extension will 
be assessed an administrative fee, as determined by the court. 
  (2)  Cash Bail 
  In all cases wherein the defendant has posted cash bail and the court imposes a sentence 
which includes a fine payable in installments, any cash bail must be applied toward the fine. This 
must not relieve a defendant of making payment at such time and in such amount as ordered by 
the court, but must be credited to reduce the fine balance. 



  (3)  Failure to Pay Fine 
  Fines due on traffic cases and criminal cases with summary or bench probation without 
Victim Restitution orders will be subject to the addition of a $300 Civil Assessment pursuant to 
PC1214.1 if the fine becomes delinquent.  In instances when the Court has contracted with a 
collection agency for the purpose of collecting delinquent court accounts, all payments for the 
cases referred to the collection agency will be made to the collection agency and remitted to the 
Court in accordance with the terms of the contract. 
 (c)  Conditional Sentence  
 Informal probation, summary probation or bench probation are conditional sentences as 
defined in Penal Code Section 1203. 
 (d)  Proof of Compliance with Conditions of Probation 
 In criminal and traffic cases in which a defendant has been placed on informal, summary, or 
bench probation with a requirement by a certain date that the defendant show: 
  (1)  Proof of completion of alternate work service; 
  (2)  Proof of obtaining a license; 
  (3)  Proof of payment of restitution; 
  (4)  Proof of fine payment; 
  (5)  Proof of completion of DWIUI School or AA attendance;  
or reappear in court on a certain date; the clerk is authorized to receive and file the appropriate 
proof and to take the matter off calendar. 
  In cases where there is some question as to whether the proof is appropriate, the clerk will 
so notify the defendant and advise the defendant to reappear in court. 
 (e)  Jail Sentences - Credit for Time Served 
 Unless otherwise indicated by a sentencing judge, when a defendant is ordered to serve time 
in the County Jail either as a sentence or condition of probation, the defendant must be deemed 
entitled to credit for any days actually served in custody. Where possible, the sentencing judge 
must determine the total number of actual days to be credited to a defendant's time so that the 
date of admission and release from custody can be specified.  (Amended 1/1/11) 
 
RULE  10.12  
 TRAFFIC AND ILLEGAL PARKING  
 (a)  Traffic School 
  (1) Eligibility  
  This Court will permit those eligible pursuant to California Rules of Court, Rule 4.104, to 
attend a California Department of Motor Vehicle approved traffic school as a means of obtaining 
a confidential traffic school conviction.  
  (2) Procedure 
  The traffic citation or complaint will be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles as 
a confidential traffic school conviction upon the presentation of any required fees by the date 
specified for completion.  
   (A)  A defendant must be given 13 weeks to attend and provide proof of completion 
and payment of required fees.  
   (B)  Traffic School may not be attended unless authorized by the Court. 
  
 
 (b)  Continuance by Clerk 
 A clerk of this Court may upon the request of a defendant or counsel continue the initial 
arraignment of a defendant except for defendants released on bail.  (Amended 1/1/12) 
 

(c)Counter Arraignment by Counsel 

(1) The Clerk’s office is authorized to accept local form Counter Arraignment by Counsel on 
infraction cases from retained attorneys. 



(2) Counter Arraignment by Counsel forms cannot be modified.  Modified forms will not be 
accepted. 

(3) No motions may be submitted with a Counter Arraignment by Counsel form. 
(4) Counter Arraignment by Counsel will include the following actions on the defendant’s 

behalf: 
a. Waiver of formal arraignment. 
b. Waiver of time for trial. 
c. Entry of not guilty plea on all charges. 

(5) The Clerk’s office will take the arraignment off calendar and notify parties. 
 
RULE  10.13 
 TIME STANDARDS  
 It will be the goal of the Court to dispose of cases within the following time limits. 
 Preliminary Hearing concluded within 30 days of first appearance and conviction or acquittal 
within 60 days of the date of filing the information or indictment. 
 Misdemeanor: Conviction or acquittal of defendant or dismissal of case within 90 days of first 
appearance. Attorneys substituting into a case will be expected to handle the case within these 
time standards.  (Amended 7/1/02) 
 
RULE 10.14 
 TRIAL BY DECLARATION  
(Repealed 1/1/08) 
As provided in Vehicle Code Section 40902, a defendant may elect to have a trial by written 
declaration upon any alleged infraction violation of the Vehicle Code or any local ordinance 
adopted pursuant to the Vehicle Code, which does not require a mandatory appearance. 
 
RULE 10.15 
 COUNTER ARRAIGNMENTS  
 (a)  Counter Arraignment Defined 
 A counter arraignment is a procedure whereby a defendant charged with violations of law 
may offer a plea of guilty at the office of the clerk without the necessity of appearance in court.  
When an appropriate waiver of rights form has been executed by defendant and approved by a 
judge or commissioner  clerk of the court, it is a judgment of the court.  
 (b)  Charges Eligible for Counter Arraignment 
 Any infraction or misdemeanor charge whereby an appearance is not not requiring a 
mandatory appearance is eligible for a counter arraignment. 
 (c)  Bail and Fine 
 The fine imposed after a counter arraignment must be equal to the bail as set in the bail 
schedule. 
 (d)  Delayed Payments and Work Service 

a.  Upon entering a guilty plea and paying mandatory fees, the balance of the 
fine will the fine can be deferred for 90 days or the defendant can request 
monthly payments of $100 per month.  Clerk’s have discretion to reduce the 
payment to $50 per month if defendant sas he or she cannot afford the higher 
payment.  The balance of the fine may be satisfied in whole or in part by 
performing community service at a rate of $10 for every hour worked. 
 

  
(1) Fines less than $300.00 must have a due date 13 weeks from the date of counter 

arraignment, 
(2) Fines of $300.00 or more shall be given a due date in the future that allows for 

$100 per month payments (i.e., $900 fine = 9 months) from the date of counter 
arraignment, with a cap of 12 months. 

 (e)  Responsibility for Community Service 



 A person choosing to perform community service as full or partial satisfaction of to satisfy a 
fine must make their own arrangements through the following agency:  Pucciarelli Consulting. 
 (f)  Pay or Reappear Sentence 
 The sentence for infractions must require the payment of the fine or the return to court by the 
due date. Failure to pay or reappear must result in an additional charge pursuant to Penal Code 
§853.7, increased bail and issuance of a bench warrant.   
 (g)  Pay or Serve Sentence 
 The sentence for misdemeanor violations must be imposed pursuant to Penal Code §1205 and 
require the defendant to pay the fine by the due date or serve the sentence at the rate of $50.00 
per day.  (Amended 7/1/10) 
 
 
RULE 10.16 
 APPLICATION FOR WRIT OF HABEAS CORPUS OR CORAM NOB IS 
 An application for writ of habeas corpus, coram nobis, mandamus or prohibition in a 
criminal proceeding must be presented to the Criminal Department except petitions for writs of 
mandamus, prohibition, or review (certiorari) in a case charging a misdemeanor or infraction 
must be addressed to the Appellate Division of the court pursuant to Rule 14.05. 
(Amended 7/1/10) 
 
 
RULE 10.17 
 PETITIONS FOR DISMISSAL PURSUANT TO PENAL CODE SECTION 1203.4, 
1203.4a, 1203.41, 1203.43, 1203.49  

(a) Applicable fees 

a. For all case levels, a processing fee as outlined in the is required. 

(b) Misdemeanors and Infractions 

a.  Petitions are initially handled ex parte.  The matter will be placed on calendar only 

by order of the reviewing bench officer. 

b. Judicial Council forms CR180 and CR181 are required.   

c. Clerk will review the documents for completeness.  If complete, the prosecuting 
attorney will be notified.  The prosecuting attorney has 30 days to respond.  After 
30 days, the petition will be submitted to the assigned Bench Officer for review 
and signature. 

d. Notificiation is provided by email to attorneys or unrepresented defendants.  If 

email is not available for an unrepresented defendant, a self addressed, stamped 

envelope must be provide.  

(c) Felonies 

a. A formal motion placing the matter on calendar is required on Penal Code 
Section 17(b), 1203.4, 1203.4a, 1203.41, 1203.43, 1203.49 requests. 

b. The CR180 and CR181 Judicial Council forms can accompany the formal motion 
but cannot substitute for the motion. 

 


