Superior Court of California

County of San Luis Obispo
FAILURE TO PAY

Instructions, Petition and Declaration to:
Vacate Civil Assessment After Referral to Collections Agency [PC1214.1]

Name:

Address: City: State: Zip:

Case NO: Fine Amount:

Email:

IN ORDER TO VACATE THE CIVIL ASSESSMENT, YOU MUST:

1. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS.

2. Fill out this petition and return to the address at the bottom of this form.

3. Attach documentation for the specified reason you are seeking to vacate the Civil Assessment.

If you do not complete the Petition and PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION, the Court will not consider your Petition.

If your petition is DENIED, you must pay the $300.00 Civil Assessment and remaining balance due.
If your petition is GRANTED, you must make arrangements with the collection agency within 30 days of the decision
on you petition to pay the remaining balance due on the fine.

| request that the Court vacate the Civil Assessment in the above matter, on the following grounds:
() Hospitalization () Incarceration () Military Duty () Death of Immediate Family
Member
YOU MUST ATTACH YOUR DOCUMENTATION IN SUPPORT OF THIS REQUEST

Please state your reason(s) below for petitioning to vacate the Civil Assessment:

| declare under penalty of perjury under the Laws of the State of California that all of the information
contained in this Petition, and the documents attached, are true and correct.

Defendant’s Signature Date
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Petition is Granted Petition is Denied

By Court Officer Dated

Please return the petition by mail to the
San Luis Obispo Superior Court
1050 Monterey Street, Room 220

San Luis Obispo, CA 93408
OR
Please return by email:
SLO-CS@SLO.COURTS.CA.GOV



INSTRUCTIONS TO VACATE CIVIL ASSESSMENT

What is a Civil Assessment?

A Civil Assessment of $300.00 is imposed against anyone who fails to pay a court ordered fine or fails to
comply with any other court-ordered obligation by the due date. This Civil Assessment is imposed in
addition to any fine connected with your case.

Can | have the Civil Assessment vacated?

You may ask the Court to vacate the Civil Assessment if your failure to comply was caused by one of the
following:

1) Hospitalization

2) Incarceration

3) Active military duty

4) Death of an immediate family member

How do | vacate the Civil Assessment?

In order to request that the Civil Assessment be vacated, you must:

1) Fill out the attached Petition
2) Provide written documentation of the reason for your failure to pay.

Examples of written documentation are: records of admission and discharge from the hospital; court
orders to remand into custody/or records of release from custody; appropriate military orders for active
service; or death certificate and documentation of relationship to the deceased.

What happens after the Petition is filed?

Your Petition will be reviewed promptly for a decision. Once the Court has reviewed the Petition and
supporting documentation, a decision will be made to either grant or deny your Petition.

You will be notified of the Court’s decision by mail. It is important that you supply the Court with your
correct address to ensure you receive the Court’s ruling on your Petition to Vacate Civil Assessment.
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