Name Change: Adult
If you are getting divorced and want to change your name to your former name, you can usually do that in your divorce case. If you are getting divorced in California, and the divorce is not final yet, you can ask the court to restore your name to your former name. Contact a lawyer or your local Family Law Facilitator to find out how to do this.
If you were divorced in California and didn't change your name in your divorce, you can ask the court to restore your former name. Contact a lawyer or your local Family Law Facilitator to find out how to do this.
Do It Yourself
We have an online form preparation program available that will ask you to answer questions that are used to complete the forms needed to file a petition for a change of name. This program will also allow you to print out all the completed necessary forms.
If you would like the Self-Help Center / Family Law Facilitator's Office to review your forms before you file, then do not make copies until after the Center has reviewed your documents.
What's Needed To Change Your Name
The following forms will be needed to change your name:
- NC-100 Petition for Change of Name
- NC-110 Attachment to Petition for Change of Name
- NC-120 Order to Show Cause for Change of Name
- CM-010 Civil Case Cover Sheet
- NC-130 Decree Changing Name
- FW-001 Request to Waive Court Fees (optional)
- FW-003 Order on Court Fee Waiver (optional)
2 Self-Addressed Envelopes with Postage
Sample forms are provided to review what the forms may look like when completed.
Where to Get Forms
Internet: For free, you can visit California Courts forms. You can locate the forms needed by clicking on the Name Changes group of forms and then by form number.
Court Clerk’s Office: For $5, you may obtain a packet of blank forms from:
San Luis Obispo Courthouse Annex
1035 Palm St., Room 385
Paso Robles Courthouse
901 Park St. Room 105
Court Filing Fee: The Court will charge a fee to file this case, unless you apply and qualify for a fee waiver.
Newspaper Fee: In addition to the Court filing fee, you will need to pay the newspaper a fee to publish your Order to Show Cause for Change of Name (NC-120). Publishing the name change request in a local newspaper is required and the Court cannot waive the newspaper fee.
Overview of the Process
Complete all the forms listed above.
Make 2 copies of all the original completed documents. You should have 1 original and 2 copies.
File the Originals, Copies and 2 Self-Addressed Envelopes with the Court:
You must file the original and copies with the Court. In addition, give the Court Clerk two self-addressed stamped envelopes. The Clerk will use these envelopes to mail you your hearing date and copies of your court order. You may file at any one of our courthouses in San Luis Obispo or Paso Robles.
Publish in the Newspaper:
The Court Clerk will mail you a filed copy of your Order to Show Cause for Change of Name (NC-120). When you receive this document in the mail you must take it to the newspaper listed on your Order to Show Cause for Change of Name. You must instruct the newspaper to publish the Order to Show Cause for Change of Name in the newspaper once a week for 4 weeks in a row. The newspaper will charge a fee to publish in the newspaper and the Court cannot waive this newspaper fee. The following are some of the newspapers that may publish.
Go to your Hearing:
You must go to court on the day of your scheduled hearing. You should bring to court the original proof of publication from the newspaper if you did not previously file it with the Court.
Get your Court Order to Change Name:
At the hearing, the judge may either grant or deny your request to change your name. If the judge grants the request to change name then the court clerk may give you a copy of the order on the day of the hearing or you will receive a copy of the order in the mail within a few days.
Get a Certified Copy of the Order:
After one week from the date of your hearing, you may come to the Court Clerk’s Office where your case was heard and request a certified copy of the Decree Changing Name (NC-130). You will need to purchase a certified copy of your court order to change your driver’s license, passport, and other legal documents.